Dooooooooom

March 4, 2011 at 4:23 pm | Posted in General | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Wotcha everyone,

So, the headstart has flashed by in an instant (or a “week” if we want to be more accurate) and launch day is here.  Well, it is if you’re in Europialand; if you are in the Americas, launch day has come and gone.

I am looking forward to massive queues, crashes, server restarts, and a hundred and one sundry other slights and insults that make launch days the experience that they are.

I then expect things (especially the login queues) to get slightly better as time progresses over the next couple of weeks.

This is how things are Meant To Be™, after all.

If they are not, I shall be most distressed.  If there is no four-hour login queue, how am I to get dinner prepared and then cooked?  How am I to catch up on my single-player gaming?  How am I to spend quality time with my lovely lady?  How am I to catch up on all my chores?

If there are no random server restarts, how am I to realise that it’s time to make a lovely cup of tea?  Thirst can be ignored, as can the withdrawal symptoms (shaking, extreme headaches, loss of vision, death), especially if I’m busy pounding some extra-planar tourist into the dirt (Hey honey, that nice Regulos Tours said Telara is particularly nice this time of year.  Shall we have a quick weekend away?).

Most of all, I need to be able to sit here, in three year’s time, and be able to tell all those Johnny-and-Jemima-come-latelys how lucky they are not to have had to sit through all the things that Went Wrong.

Without that sort of tale, how can they respect me and all my wise, sagey advice (that they *must* follow or be Doing It Wrong)?

Alternatively, I hope it all goes swimmingly, and we all get to just log in, play, and have fun.

Once again, good luck Trion.  Good luck us.

Cheers,
Hawley.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well again it’s so far, so good over on Firesands. I’ve had to exit Chat Levels 1-9 again as it’s flooded with people talking about WoW again….thankfully that died out in a day or so last time.

    All that stress testing and patching during Beta 8 (AKA Headstart) will be proved worthy or inadequate over the next few hours.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

