Have Mount, Will Travel (Part 2)

January 4, 2011 at 5:20 pm | Posted in General | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Stupid admission time.

I have a Draenai paladin.  He was created shortly after The Burning Crusade was released, and over the years has slowly crept up the levels as I fancied a bit of hot paladin action, finally attaining the grand level of 43.

By the way, that’s not the stupid admission bit, it’s just a regular admission of my own inability to concentrate on an alt, much of the time.

The stupid admission bit starts about now, when I state that I decided to check him out now that ‘Clysm has hit, and the levelling bit has changed, and is quicker, yadda-yadda-you-know-the-rest-of-it.

I log into the character, start poking around to see what’s changed, decide to check out the trainers, decide that running is for losers, summon my lovely Paladin warhorse with the fancy blue curtain (yeah, I know it’s called a caparison, but, well, y’know.  It’s a gag) ‘round it, and an elephant appeared.

Confused, I did what any normal, sane person would do.  I blanked, dismissed the elephant mount, resummoned the lovely blue curtained horse.

And found myself staring (again) at a draenai paladin sat on an elephant.

Now imagine this scene repeating itself, yet getting increasingly frantic, over the course of the next 5 or so minutes.

The lovely horse was gone.

Let me provide a little more background here, which will hopefully shed a little more light on the situation.

I like the Draenai model.  It’s big, it’s blue, it’s sort of like a big blue demon thing.  Only it’s a happy, cuddly, big blue demon thing.

I don’t like the racial mount.  That elephantal monstrosity is the down side of playing a draenai, as far as I’m concerned.  Admittedly, many others like it, and I don’t wish to state that they are wrong, wronger, wrongest about it.  But I really, really don’t like that elephant mount.

After some investigation, it appears that Draenai paladins now have a particularly un-paladiney elephant as a summoned mount, rather than a lovely blue-curtained horse.  Big fat sigh.

Maybe, if I were less oblivious, I’d have known about the change to a more ‘racial’ style of mount.  Maybe, if I were less forgetful, I’d remember that I *did* find out about this change, but discounted it as the patch notes of a crazy person, and consigned that nugget of information to the “Crazy Stuff: To Delete” portion of my headbrain.

Whatever the true state of affairs is, it does not change the fact that I was completely blind-sided by this change, and it made me cry real human tears.  Only on the inside though, as I am a man, and real men are only supposed to cry on the inside.

I now look at that poor unfortunate Paladin, and wonder if he’ll ever get to do anything ever again.  Unlike Shaman Herewerd, who got to grind up his Stormwind rep so that he could have a horse mount, that Paladin never had to worry.  Until now, of course.

And whilst it’s a lot easier to grind rep with the four base cultures than it ever has been, it’s still a bit of an @rse.  Besides, I really, really liked that horse.  I mean, *really* liked it.  I may joke about the curtains, but I really, really like them.

It’s that bad, that I’m very much considering deleting the character, and recreating it as a dwarf or human, just to get a mount that isn’t a stupid elephant.

For those of you tempted to get out the cheese-board so that I can have something to go with my whine, there is a reason to this ramble.

There’s very little that we, as players, can influence within our chosen games.  There’s surprisingly little choice, so when I choose a character, and invest in a race and a class, that’s the biggest, most influential, most important choice I will make for the entirety of a game.

Part of the choice of Paladin was, for me, the mount.  It sounds really shallow to say it, but there we go.  Big blue demon on a horsey.  It was one of the things that sold the package to me.  The multi-role nature of the class was part of it, the available races influenced it, and the exclusive mount were all part of what sold me on creating a paladin.

And now part of that package has been changed, and suddenly it’s not my choice any more.  That stings, it really does.

Solutions?

Option: Suck It Up.
Yeah, man up, it’s only a game.  Get used to the elephant, idiot.

Option: Apply Cash.
Most things can be sorted with the handy application of cash, and this is no exception.  I could just throw money at Blizzard until they change the race of the character to a human or dwarf.

Option: Grind Rep.
As it says.  Get the rep sorted, get a racial mount such as a big cat, or a ram, or whatever.  Anything but a (shudder) stupid elephant.

Option: Slash And Burn.
Delete the character, start a new dwarf or human.  Levelling is so easy nowadays, anyway.

Option: Do Nothing.
The true slacker option.  In the course of *entire years* he’s got to level 43.  That’s not slacking, that’s sheer, unadulterated laziness.  I’ve ignored the character so much, the lovely horse probably died of boredom.

I shall probably ponder what to do over an obscenely large mug of tea, bearing in mind how much of a slacker I am, and that I might just go for Option: Do Nothing purely because making a decision would probably occupy more brain power than it’s worth.

At least, until I get a hankering for playing a paladin again.

Cheers,
Hawley.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] MMOSH — Have Mount, Will Travel (Part 2) “Whatever the true state of affairs is, it does not change the fact that I was completely blind-sided by this change, and it made me cry real human tears. Only on the inside though, as I am a man, and real men are only supposed to cry on the inside.” […]

  2. Have you considered the Black War Steed – http://www.wowhead.com/item=29468 ?

    Purchaseable for honour points: But it costs 2000. I’ve never really pursued honour on a non-max-level character, so I don’t know if that is at all feasible.

    • Wotcha Carson,
      Considered, discounted. Unless I’m much mistaken, it’s the same as the Stormwind horses, just a different colour. Barded, but no caparison. And those horses just don’t seem as cool, as a result.
      Foolish, I know…
      Cheers,
      Hawley.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

