Seismic Influences

November 25, 2010 at 6:00 pm | Posted in General | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Mixed in with various idle thoughts of where and how to survive an impending Cataclysm, I’ve been pondering thoughts of the expansion itself.  Part of this has been rather expertly put on record by YawningAngel, which makes me wonder if my head-brain has been broadcasting on open channels again.  I think it’s more that he might have tapped into the Warcraft-Zeitgeist.  At least I hope so; I’d think I’d like to be part of a Zeitgeist movement thingy.  I’ve never done it before.  It would make me one of the cool kids, and that would be nice.

Asides aside, I’ve also been quite surprised about the way that information about Cataclysm has not just influenced the way I’ve played in a minor way, but actively influenced my choices about what to play, where and how.

The biggest influence has been towards the myriad of alts I seem to generate in every game.

Knowing that Blizzard were about to throw out a new, revised set of levelling zones and quests, with all the attendant concepts of “New Levelling Experience”, meant that any alts I’d created (or thought about creating) that had not reached level 60 were shelved.

Why level characters through content that I’ve played through a few times already, when I can level them all through revised content that will hopefully be a lot more fun for me?  Yes, I find replaying content to be a lot less fun than experiencing it the first time around; the perfect game for me would be one with at least 5 or 6 routes to level through so I’d be able to have loads of alts, and hopefully less repetition.

I like playing alts; I like being able to play in varying styles, and performing various roles.  Even to the extent of not minding one little bit about changing which characters I play as part of a raid team, if and when required by the raid leaders.  It’s about the act of raiding, not the attainment of shiny phat lewtz.

So Cataclysm is a welcome change, as far as I’m concerned.  I find myself fired up to play, to start levelling alts and experiencing this fun, new content.

Yet I was also frustrated, in the sort of way that makes me want to take cold showers and cross my legs.  I was all hot and bothered to get that Warlock up and running, or get my Paladin and Hunter back on the rails and levelling up again, but there was no point.  Playing then meant playing in the old, soon-to-be-cataclysmed Azeroth, rather than in the spangly new-and-improved-by-escaping-dragon Azeroth.

Just like YawningAngel, I wanted to be in there and playing, yet I found myself stuck for things to do.  There were plenty of things I wanted to be doing, yet there was no point to doing them because of all the changes that would be happening soon.  And those prospected changes were the main reason I could see all these gaming options…  It’s good to have the option, and the fire to play, though.  No complaints here.

The other side to this double-edged hype is that I’m finding myself wondering if I’m going to end up with a whole set of level 60 alts, largely because I’d really appreciate it if Outland was revamped and rejigged too.

Not much to ask, is it?

Cheers,
Hawley.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Outland really needs a revamp, but at least you don’t have to spend long there while levelling. You can get through the place in a few evenings due to the scary xp and area knowledge. I think my last toon that went there was leaving before Nagrand was cleared.
    That said, my Warlock is on the edge of needing to head there, and I just can’t face it :-p


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

