Warp Factor: Stupid

May 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Wotcha everyone,

You know those “You must be this tall” signs at the entrance to roller-coaster queues?  Well, I sometimes wonder if some games should have “You must be this smart” signs…

I spotted that Steam had a Star Trek Online demo.  Now, both of my regular readers are well aware that Hawley loves free trials, so I was all over it like a rash.

Unfortunately, I just had problems getting into the demo.  It just wasn’t intuitive, in terms of finding out what I needed to do to get into the game.  Sometimes I can be thick, whilst other times I really do need instructions written on the soul of a boot in order to pour p1ss out of it.  Especially if it’s a style of boot I’ve not seen before.

In the end, I had to ask a mate, who kindly provided the answer.  Thank you.  You’ve saved a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth.

It seems I needed to right click the game entry in the library, and select Manage Game Account.

Maybe my stupidity was due to not knowing Steam very well, maybe it was due to being a monkey.  And maybe it was because Cryptic hate me, and enjoyed laughing at me.

I shall have a go at the demo.  Insert overused Star Trek quote here…

Cheers,
Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

