LFD – Not for me.

May 10, 2010 at 3:19 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Wotcha everyone,

I wrote a post about how I just didn’t enjoy World of Warcraft’s Dungeon Finder when I tried it out last week.  But all it did was make me sound an awful lot more ranty and annoyed than I actually am about it all; it also looked like I needed some bread and cheese to go with my whine…  So I deleted it, and decided to go for a lot less moaning instead.

I had a few negative experiences whilst attempting to use LFD, and those negative experiences were enough to reinforce my dislike of PUGs.  It didn’t help that it wasn’t the system at fault, it was my inability to get with the times (granddad).

I still see instances as a cool thing, a group endeavour where everyone works together to achieve the aim of having fun, killing bad guys, and getting trez and xp.  But times have changed, and somewhere, somehow, for a lot of players it seems to have become another grind, there to be done as quickly as possible to get it out of the way.  It’s now a solo endeavour, and heaven help anyone who stands in the way of fast xp and faster trez.

This is a shame.  It’s a shame because I just don’t want to play that way.  I don’t want to prosper, or even survive, in that gaming environment.

It is also not my intention to try and change my fellow player, to make them play in the way that I want them too.  Even if I had the right to stand up and say; “You are doing it wrong; this is how to do it right”, I wouldn’t.  We all play in the manner we enjoy, and we get the fun that we deserve.

So I’m going to step away from LFD, and go back to what I do enjoy in game.  I’m actually having plenty of fun levelling Skooge through quests, and it’s not like I’m in a rush to get him from his current 73 to level 80.  After all, what’s he going to do when he gets there?

Well, he’ll stab lots of narsties to death, steal their trez, and see about getting a flying mount that’s faster than his manky old blue windrider.

Cheers,
Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

