Monday: All the trimmings

April 13, 2010 at 3:39 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment
Tags:

Wotcha everyone,

Monday was a strange day.  Well, the bit after work was.

On any normal Monday I would go home, get some chores done, and fire up the pc to get a bit of gaming done before my lovely lady returns from her work.

Not this week.  After the chores, I was reduced to using the intarnet for such pedestrian things as:

  • Catching up on emails
  • Reading assorted forums and blogs
  • Searching for information

Gosh, not-gaming is opening my eyes to so many things that the intarnets can be used for!

Yes, I’m still cold turkey.  Roughly 1 in 4 thoughts is; “What game/s shall I play when I’m playing games again?”  No, I won’t tell you what the other thoughts are, but not all of them involve Star Wars, despite what many think.

Yesterday evening I watched some television.  *Just* watched television.  It was a strange, disconcerting experience, and one that I don’t particularly want to repeat any time soon.  This is most probably because my watching television was a purely passive experience.  I just sat down, and let the television do its thing.  There was no interaction other than my choice to change or not change the channel, and there wasn’t even a need for conscious thought.

Usually, if I’m watching television, I’m doing something else at the same time.  Usually, that’s playing an MMO.  The television is background noise, it’s something to keep me going when farming, or sorting inventory, or any one of the myriad things in online gaming that doesn’t require full concentration.  It could be replaced with music easily.

The best sort of gaming requires constant mental activity; actively engaging my mental faculties towards a specific goal, prioritising consideration and attention around a variety of different focal points, making those decisions that make the difference between success and failure.

It’s more than possible to be emotionally engaged in a film or television program (the first time I saw Return of the King I was ready to grab a spear and shield and help out with the defence of Minas Tirith), but gaming gives us the opportunity to change the story, even if it is in a limited fashion.  It allows us to interact, and that ability to interact is improving all the time.

I look forward to being able to guide my own gaming destiny in 5 day’s time.

Cheers,
Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

