In space, no-one can hear me heal.

March 18, 2010 at 4:38 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Finally, I got a taste of what it is like to be a logistics capsuleer in Eve Online.

I had scuttled…  Hmm.  Maybe “scuttle” is the wrong term to use when talking about capital ships, but it’s the best way to describe my frenzied movement from gate to gate…  Scuttle it is.

I had scuttled from jump gate to jump gate with an Osprey and a hold full of expensive junk, from where the Osprey had been parked in HiSec all the way into NullSec.  The fear of losing the ship, and the huge amount of cash sunk into it (well, for me it was a huge amount of cash) is a surprisingly effective death penalty, so even though I didn’t see a single aggressive soul on my way through 31 jumps, it was with a sigh of relief that I finally docked at my destination in Nullsec.

From there, I set about trying to fit the good ship Urine Sample with the equipment necessary to turn it into something approximating a fleet support vessel.  As this was a first experiment, I had based it heavily on a basilisk fit that used lots of Tech 2 gear.

Suffice to say, I have neither the skills nor the ISK to be able to be playing around with Basilisks and Tech 2 gear.  So it was much stripped down, into what I could both use and afford.

The business end was two shield transporters, and two remote armour repairers.  Supporting those were four capacitor rechargers.  And a very short time after announcing to the world that I finally had a ship ready, I was invited into a fleet.

The fleet was a corp carebear fleet that was taking out havens for fun and profit.  It was an ideal opportunity to check out my ship, it’s loadout, and to learn the very basics of logistics, as to be perfectly honest I was surplus to requirements.  I was flying with the big boys, and the big boys were probably capable of surviving by themselves.

However, I was able to learn the following:

It’s healing, Jim, but not as we know it. Well, as I know it.  Rather than flinging a spell which has a casting time and then an effect, it’s a cyclic-tick trigger.  Thingy.  I switch it on and off, and it keeps healing until out of capacitor power, or I switch it off.  It’s a quite important distinction, and feels a lot more like a Heal Over Time than a direct heal spell.

Suddenly my Cap is my Mana. When did that happen?  I’m mainly used to my Cap just… being there.  It sits there, runs out very occasionally, and is a pretty yellowy-orangey thing on my User Interface.  But now, it’s everything.  I can eat through it in a few seconds if I fire up everything, or most of a minute if I just fire some of it up.  Either way, sometimes I’m just sat there doing nothing, letting it build up again.

Pimping my ride could become an obsession.
And I’m not talking about painting it metallic purple, and putting 38 speakers and a dvd player in it.  I am, unfortunately, talking about tweaking and upgrading until I’ve got a ship that can do the job I want and need it to do, but also is affordable enough to lose in PvP.

It’s different, it’s fresh, and it’s new.  It’s a different environment and a new role in a game I had realised I didn’t know that well, but at least felt comfortable in.  But that doesn’t mean there’s no fun.

I’m very much looking forward to my next session in Eve Online.

Cheers,
Hawley

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

