Watch out guv! He’s got a shoota!

January 6, 2010 at 8:48 am | Posted in General | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

What’s worse; having the skill to use a weapon but no weapon, or having a weapon but no weapon skill?

Well, I know what it’s like to have the weapon but no weapon skill.  I’d assembled a G-8 automatic, but in my excited crafting frenzy forgot that I needed to raise my pistol skill to use it.

I even have quite a number of bullets. 

Imagine the head/desk interface fun I had when I discovered I was one AP short of the required skill level to use my shiny new shoota.  Ah, the wailing and gnashing of teeth was something to see.

In my anger and frustration, I went out and bludgeoned some naughty Franklin’s Riders impersonators to death with a crowbar.  At least, I hope they were impersonators.  It was quite hard to tell, what with them wearing Franklin’s Riders uniforms.

Well, the NPC didn’t complain when I came back, and even paid me, so I didn’t volunteer any doubts seeing as he didn’t ask for any clarification.  With luck, we’ll be able to keep that as a secret between you and me, ok?

I’m still somewhat surprised that I’m still reading the quest texts.  The missions aren’t any more than your usual kill stuff/deliver stuff/gather stuff, but the wrapping is nice, and the clever writing means that I care about *why* I’m killing stuff/delivering stuff/gathering stuff.

This in turn makes me feel less like a monkey pressing the button to get a banana, and more like I’m actually playing a character in a world.  That’s a lot more appealing to me than fancier graphics, or easier levelling, or famous personages endorsing products over the telly-e-vision.

Yeah, that’s a dig at World of Warcraft, but it’s a good natured one (and one that can be levelled at many other MMOs).  World of Warcraft is something I may well return to with Cataclysm, but every time I start to feel immersed, Blizzard do something that pulls me right back, and screams in my face; “You’re playing a game!”  I blame the style of humour that seems to be the core of the game nowadays, but that is because I am old and bitter and have an over-inflated sense of my own importance.  This doesn’t make it a bad game.  It’s just that I like being immersed in the persistent worlds that MMOs strive for, and Fallen Earth seems to be succeeding in that at the moment.

This means that when I’m playing, I’m not just thinking of what the rewards are.  I’m not the monkey pressing the button because I want the banana.  I’m more the monkey pressing the button because I’m having fun watching the researchers get all excited and making notes on their clip-boards.  The banana is just an added bonus.

So the new shoota can wait.  It’ll feel like moments before I can use it, anyway.

Cheers,

Hawley.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] a fairly recent subscriber to the game, Hawley shares a few sentiments about Fallen Earth’s quests that I’ll back up.  Simply put, he and I and many others […]

  2. […] a fairly recent subscriber to the game, Hawley shares a few sentiments about Fallen Earth’s quests that I’ll back up.  Simply put, he and I and many others […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

