Oota Goota, Solo?

November 30, 2009 at 4:25 pm | Posted in General | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Further to my wondering about the proposed classes for Star Wars: The Old Republic, I had a further ponder regarding the class choices.  I suppose this is because, despite Scarybooster’s amazing scoop (almost literally, by the looks of it.  Laugh?  Mmm, muchly did I, to quote a well-known Jedi Master), I’ve not seen much hard and fast actual information.

And, because of the way my mind works, I don’t ponder what *actual* abilities the classes will have.  No, I don’t.  Therein lies madness and disappointment.

I do ponder on their choices, though.  And why they made them.

Let’s talk about the Smuggler.

It’s sometimes known as The Han Solo Effect.  Han Solo is believed to be, by many, the coolest character in the Star Wars movies.  He cracks wise, he wants to know who put you in charge, and he shoots first.  Sometimes.  Well, he used to shoot first.

Talk about Smugglers in a science fiction setting, and most people immediately think of Han Solo.  And because of Han Solo, there’s the association between Smugglers and Heroes.  Smugglers *are* Heroes.  Due to their strong anti-authoritarian beliefs, they fight against evil and oppression.  They are natural rebels, the best pilots in the galaxy, they all own really, really cool space ships, and they’re all gunslingers.

Mal Reynolds wouldn’t exist without Han Solo.

So it’s only natural that the Smuggler class would be on the Republic side.  Han Solo is a good guy, so he’d be fighting against the evil Sith Empire too.

But…  Han Solo is just one Smuggler.  And he’s not exactly fighting with the Rebellion on behalf of smugglers throughout the galaxy.

Now, I’m no legal expert, but I do recall hearing somewhere that smuggling is an illegal activity.  Maybe that’s why it’s not called; “Trading”.  I suppose all that avoidance of paying customs taxes, declaration of income, and transferring goods past sanctioned embargos is a bad thing, and one of many causes of corruption.

And here’s the rub; how do Smugglers fit into The Republic, it being the bright and shining example of law and order?  And taxes.  And customs.  And not crime lords?

I’m looking forward to hearing the rationale for this one, Bioware.

Cheers,
Steve.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think they’ve explained it to a degree in the timeline “videos”… have you ever watched those?

    • Wotcha Tirnel,

      I’ll hold up my hand and say I’ve not watched any of the videos that BioWare have created. They will only make me want to play NOW! and this would make me all antsy when I can’t.

      But I did read the blurb for Smugglers on their Holonet (which also made me want to play NOW! but less so), and there were some really big gaps between the lines, into which it was quite easy to fit; “We have to put smugglers in the game or we’ll be impaled on a thousand fanboy’s light-sabres, but we can’t have them as bad guys thanks to that Lucas bloke and him creating Han Solo”. At least, that’s what I read.

      It struck me as funny, more than anything else. I’m not one to particularly demand a decent justification for anything in a game other than “We think the game would be more fun with this”, but seeing a justification that makes real world sense would be interesting.

      Cheers,
      Hawley.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

