T’was the night before Payday…

November 25, 2009 at 4:38 pm | Posted in General | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Today, as I write this, is Wednesday.  Tomorrow is Payday.

To everyone else getting paid tomorrow, Happy Day Before Payday!

For a whole three minutes, I shall feel rich.  Beyond my wildest dreams rich.  Of course, after those three minutes various standing orders, transfers and direct debits go out, and I am poor again.  But what a glorious three minutes!

Regular readers (both of you) will also be aware that for the next 11 months I am cash-poor as I need to save every penny I can, or be horrendously in debt forever.  Probably.

Regular readers will also remember that I decided after my brief and free flirtation with Fallen Earth that I would wait until payday before deciding whether or not to buy it.  The reasoning is simple:

I don’t have much cash. It’s not a case of not being able to buy *any* toys this month, but if I am going to blow my limited budget at the beginning of the Salary Month, then I want to make sure I’m buying the right game.  As opposed to Dragon Age, or Modern Warfare 2.  Or Left 4 Dead 2.    Mmm, heavy weaponry goodness…

By spending the time to think about it, I’m doing the equivalent of wandering around the toy shop looking at everything before deciding what I really want, rather than buying the first shiny toy that catches my eye, but isn’t what I really wanted.

I’m also worried about falling back into the MMO Tourism trap.  I find misguided brand loyalty to be a bit silly, and I’ll quite happily walk away from something if I’m not enjoying it, but I’d rather be sure of whether I’ll enjoy Fallen Earth or not before I start spending money on it.  I enjoyed my time in the free trial, and that sense of enjoyment hasn’t faded in the last couple of weeks.  In point of fact, when I heard about the latest free trial, my first thought was; “Cool, free game time”, rather than thinking of it as another chance to see what the game was like.  Which I’d like to think is a good sign that I’ll enjoy the game for longer than the first four weeks.

Free trials are good.  I like free trials.  They’re both free, and a great way to get a look at a game.  I’d say they’re far, far better than a beta test for finding out about a game, as what you’re playing is the finished product, rather than a work in progress that may or may not be representative of what will be released.  You also get to interact with players, rather than player-testers, in a free trial, and that can make all the difference in an MMO.

Yes, I want Fallen Earth.  It offers a wonderful opportunity to experience a different way of playing than that offered by most available MMOs:

  • I can bimble my way around.  It’s not a fully sandbox world, but it’s closer to it than most of the modern crop of MMOs, and that means I’ve much more choice about playing the game the way I want to.
  • I can indulge in some meaningful crafting again.
  • I can beat mutant chickens to death with a lead pipe.

Cheers,
Hawley.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. http://store.steampowered.com/early-holiday

    Fallen Earth goodness at Half the price.

  2. But but Dragon age….


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

