End of the world, you say?

November 23, 2009 at 8:59 pm | Posted in General | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Cataclysm. It has quite a number of people all excited, and good play to Blizzard for that. It’s the biggest overhaul of a game in play evah!

Well, other than the entertaining farrago that was Star Wars Galaxies’ “New Game Experience”. Which was definitely new, and definitely an experience, and it was a game. It could also be described as a Fiasco, and in that it shares something with the Second Crusade.

Sorry. Digressing already.

So, it’s the second biggest overhaul to a game in play evah!. Yay!

It’s exciting, it really is.

Of course, it has meant that I’ve stopped thinking about playing World of Warcraft. There doesn’t seem much point in playing the game right now, seeing as the countdown to all your gear is now rubbish is running, and levelling alts would be a bit silly seeing as all (or most of) the zones are supposed to be changing.

I’m not sure that was part of Blizzard’s intentions, but hey, I’m pretty sure that Blizzard will survive and even prosper without needing my subscription every month.

I’m also glad that Blizzard are willing to take that much time and effort to change their world environment that much. I’ve been reminiscing about World of Warcraft before The Burning Crusade expansion, and to be perfectly honest I’m surprisingly nostalgic for those times. Certain things I will not miss, but the freshness of the world, the learning process, and a certain lack of scepticism made for a gaming experience that wasn’t as jaded as my gaming is now.

I’ve also been pondering whether or not I will get Cataclysm. Just as for Wrath of the Liche King, I won’t be there on launch day: There was a tad too much carnage for me the day The Burning Crusade went live. I just don’t want to share a zone with meeeeeeeellions of players again. No thanks.

I was thinking of firing it up after a couple of weeks, when the initial rush has died down. Gigglesome, it could be. Seeing the new(old) areas, and having a mooch around seeing how things have changed. As well as trying one of them Worgen thingies out. And vaping things with my leet shaman powarz. That sort of thing.

But I do have a couple of issues that I’ll need to resolve before I decide whether or not to grab Cataclysm.

The first, and most important, is that despite the fact that zones are being recreated in cataclysmic fashion, the game-play is not changing. Levelling might be new and improved thanks to fresh content, but that’s just new content on an old style of play. Is it still going to be killing cockludgers and grabbing boxes of cornflakes?

The second is that I’d feel really, really ghoulish logging in just to see the changes. Hey, this is a disaster zone. Not even the promise of disaster relief quest chains would make me feel better about essentially logging on to be a disaster tourist. By the way, I don’t know if there are disaster relief quest chains. But… Icky and wrong!

There’ still a big part of me that’s excited and interested to see how World of Warcraft will change as a result of the Cataclysm, though.

Cheers,

Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

