Cold Turkey

November 3, 2009 at 5:00 am | Posted in General, LotRO | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

I have replaced my hard drive.  Not for any bad “Aiee!  The hard drive!  She explode!” reasons, but because whenever I install a new operating system (as opposed to reinstalling) I like to install it on a clean hard drive rather than upgrading or overwriting the previous operating system.

Yes, this means I installed Windows 7.  I’m sure there are plenty of other operating systems out there, but this one means I can continue to play games in the manner to which I have become accustomed.  It also means I’m not going to need six months of getting used to a new operating system, with all the associated entertainment that entails.  Yes, I’m a slacker.

But this isn’t a plug for Microsoft.  There is a reason for me prattling on here.

You may remember that I decided to cancel my subscriptions, in an effort to rationalise my playing, and save some cash (apparently you have to pay for weddings, rather than them just sort of… happen.  I suppose planning will be a part of it too.  This whole “Wedding Day” thing can be a bit sucky at times.  If Star Wars Lego isn’t involved, there’ll be heck to pay).  Well, despite subscriptions being cancelled, those games stayed installed, their icons taunting and seducing me like painted Whitechapel harlots

I find it surprisingly hard to uninstall MMOs.  It’s the lengthy patching process that annoys; I just want to get in and play, rather than watch a bar move across a screen.  And that means it’s quicker and easier to cave in and get another month’s play in.  Impulse buying?  Oh yes.

Well, it’s all moot now.  I spent last night reinstalling Lord of the Rings Online, and Fallen Earth should be ready for me by the time I get home.  Other than that, the drive is bare of games, the desktop free of icons.  And I have, at this time, no intention of installing any other MMOs.  It’s a tad “cold turkey” for someone who likes to have a choice of what MMO to play, but sticking to one game (and a free trial) for a while is probably a good thing for me; for too long I’ve been living the life of a jet-setting MMO playboy.  Time to settle down with a good game, and give it the attention it deserves.

There is an added benefit, though.  In refusing to get Vista (and with the beta client of Windows 7 not seeming to want me to use DirectX10) I was playing Lord of the Rings Online with DirectX9 drivers.  No longer.  I got to log on for a few moments before bed-time last night, and gosh.  Pretty.

Very pretty.

Cheers,

Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

