A decided lack of Moral Fibre

October 28, 2009 at 3:26 pm | Posted in General | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

My durty-durty secret of the week is not that I migrated my World of Warcraft account to a Battle.net account.

In a rather sudden collapse of my moral fibre, I availed myself of a Steam account.  I thought about it, and decided that maybe deciding it was evil was more effort than just accepting a possible future for games distribution, signing up for it, and finding out that the world did not end, and that sometimes my principles are just a pain in the nethers.

And there was a good offer on for Borderlands.  Left 4 Dead 2 also looms large in the future.  But I digress.

Fallen Earth is on Steam.  Every time I look at the Steam application, Fallen Earth looks back at me.  It wants me, and what’s worse, I want it.  Just one (or two, or a few) clicks and we could be together.  It would be so easy just to give in…

Am I talking myself into buying Fallen Earth?

I’m really tempted to buy it, just so I can play it, find out it’s not what I wanted after all, and finally get it out of my system.  But I’m also tempted to try it just so I can feel like I’m helping the little guy against all the big nasty corporations.  And because it’s post-apocalypse and I watched Steel Dawn recently.  Until I try it, I won’t know.  But boy has it managed to get under my skin.

And then, just as it looked like I was going to have to give in and buy it sight unseen, Icarus release trial keys as part of their Halloween event.  Huzzah!  So here I am, having a look at Fallen Earth.

I also decided to download the demo for Machinarium, after hearing Unwize playing it and chatting to him about it.  Gob-smacking design and vision.  As well as being surprisingly sweet and beautiful.

Don’t worry; I still have my irrational hatred of PayPal.   Some things will never change.

Cheers,
Hawley.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m really really sorry. I meant to go look – but hey, you did a great job!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

