Whip Crack-A-Way (or how I jumped on a bandwagon and learned to embrace change)

October 22, 2009 at 5:55 am | Posted in World of Warcraft | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

I appreciate the fact that I’m not a newshound.  I also appreciate the fact that I’m the strangest sort of Early-Adopter; if something cool and techy manages to ping on my radar, then I’ll check it out (and most probably get it).  But I can be fabulously reactionary, especially when it comes to dealing with change.

There has been some comment through the Blogosphere on Blizzard’s requirement to change World of Warcraft accounts to Battlenet accounts.

Now, because I’m easily confused, I saw the artwork they’d used on their login pages and thought that I’d be forced to get one of those Security Fob doohickeys at the same time.  And whilst I appreciate that they can improve security no-end, I can also appreciate (from time served in IT helpdesks) that they can improve security to the extent that no-one can log on.  I have issues about service denial, and Security Fobs add an extra layer of complication that I just don’t like.  Security slacker that I am.

There’s also the issue of cost.  If your phone doesn’t support the Security Fob software, then you’re going to have to pay what amounts to a one-off tax to play the game you’ve been playing and paying for previously.

Unsurprisingly, that got my Reactionary gene going.  Commentators adding that this amounts to Blizzard forcing us to sign up to Social Networking just added to my reactionary zeal.

I was in serious danger of a Face-Nose-Cutting-Implement-Interface-Issue.  If Blizzard were going to force me to do something, then I just wouldn’t play their game!  Haha!  Sucks to be you, Blizzard!

Ahem.

Calmly working through the available information helped a lot.  No, I didn’t need to get a Security Fob.  I could just merge my current subscription account with the Battlenet account.

And…

I can choose to ignore the social networking side of things.  I already do my best to ignore the world of social networking that’s already out there.  I must admit to having a Twitter account, but that was purely for a work-related test.  I’ve also forgotten the password, and I’ve no real inclination to sort it out.  Other than that, I shall not boast about how much of a social networking luddite I am (because I also appreciate that blogging is social networking too, and my hypocrisy does have limits).

So I went ahead and merged my logon details with a Battlenet account.  And the world did not end.  Are there any social networking elements?  I have no idea.  I’ve no need of them, so I didn’t bother checking for them.  They can sit there unused, for all I care.

MMO gaming has been recognised to have a far longer lifespan than any other game type.  World of Warcraft has been around for 5 years and shows no signs of dying of old age.  In game years, that’s positively ancient.  So it’s not surprising that social networking sites are starting to appear for games.  Including single/multiplayer games like Dragon Age.  If they extend the lifespan of a game, then of course publishers and developers will want to use them.

We don’t have to.  I’m not talking about some insane mass boycott thing, just… I’ll not be using it.  I think it’s a sign of getting older.  Every time I encounter something like this, I have to wonder whether the object of my wrath is actually worth the effort of me hating it.

Oh, and I also got a penguin pet for signing up.  The joy.  I’d have preferred something useful, but at least the pet-collectors can joy-joy dance about it.  Unless they don’t get one, at which point I apologise.

All in all, it was painless.  Yet I have to admit, I did all of this secure in the knowledge that in just over a week my subscription runs out and I most probably won’t be playing World of Warcrft again until Cataclysm comes out, or friends beat me with sticks.  So it’s not like I’m losing much.

Cheers,
Hawley.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

