Fiscal Sobriety broke my Shaman

October 10, 2009 at 3:45 am | Posted in Aion, General, LotRO, World of Warcraft | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Syp’s crusade at Bio Break on behalf of Fallen Earth is to be commended.  I’ve gone from a passing interest to really wanting to know more.

But it’s also making me realise that it’s time I sorted out my gaming subscriptions.

I currently have 5 active subscriptions.

Lord of the Rings Online
World of Warcraft
Aion
Warhammer Online
Age of Conan

Why the realisation, followed by rationalisation?  Well, I have a wedding to save for, and I need to take a leaf out of Minstrel Hawley’s new fiscal policy if I’m going to have any meaningful savings.  I’d rather not have a wedding paid for with plastic.  Doesn’t that sound responsible?  Yeah, I know I’m going to spend it on Star Wars Lego too, but I’m doing my best here.

Currently I’m paying for four games, and two of them I don’t play that much.  Poor Warhammer Online has suffered since the loss of Warrior Priest Hawley into the chaos between servers, and Age of Conan is fun, but only in short bursts.  If I’m being brutally honest, neither is getting the amount of playtime to warrant the money I’m spending on them.  Despite the fact that Warhammer Online makes my tummy all warm, and for so many reasons, it has to go.  Age of Conan can follow it.

World of Warcraft is in a strange place since leaving my raiding group.  I’ve been levelling my alts in odd moments, but it’s mainly just going on, using up rested allowance, then leaving them.  There’s no real hold there, more a sense of just marking time before Cataclysm.  Maybe that’s my own version of millennial fever.  Maybe I should get raiding again, to reignite that interest.

Lord of the Rings Online is free from danger, because I have a lifetime subscription for it.  Besides, it’s the biggie.  Whilst I love all my MMO children equally, I love Minstrel Hawley more equally than all the others.  So for two reasons, Lord of the Rings Online is thoroughly safe.

This leaves Aion.

Aion is new.  I’ve been playing it for the last week or so.  Could I really kill it before gets the chance to shine?

Well, I did that with Everquest 2.  I took its Old Yeller self behind the barn and blew the poor sucker away without a second thought.  And it didn’t even get the chance to become Old.  Whilst I have some curiousity at times, I’ve never regretted that decision.

But I want to see how the first couple of months go with Aion, so it can stay.  To use common parlance, it gets a free ride into the next round.

So the big question is World of Warcraft.  Both Warhammer Online and Age of Conan are already going back into the box, to be taken out again when my financial situation improves and when I feel the urge to give them the time they deserve.

World of Warcraft may well be joining them.  I can get it out again when Cataclysm is released, after all.  I think I’ll cancel, but with the option to continue if I find my interest is renewed in some way.

By the time you read this, I shall have cancelled subscriptions and all but Aion (and Lord of the Rings Online, of course) should be on their countdown timer.  And from next month, I should be able to save another small chunk of cash.  Then I shall really, really hope that Fallen Earth doesn’t get a full European release.  There’s too much temptation there already.

Cheers,
Hawley.

Addendum:  I have been informed that Champions Online also has a lifetime subscription cost.  This is surprisingly attractive at the moment, so I might have to see if the word on the street improves.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. JOIN US! TOGETHER WE CAN RULE THE APOCALYPSE AS BLOGGER AND SON!

  2. Wotcha Syp,

    You really know how to kick a man when he’s down. Yes, I’m more than tempted.

    And not just by the ruling the apocalypse thing too.

    😉

    Cheers,
    Hawley.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

