All That Glisters…

October 8, 2009 at 3:40 am | Posted in LotRO | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

You may remember me deciding to change my packrat ways a short while ago.

How is that going?

I’m rich!

Okay, I’m not going to be hanging around in the millionaire’s club anytime soon, but compared to my previous hand-to-mouth existence, I’m very, very well off.

How?

Well, I cleared my bags of everything that wasn’t of immediate use, or craft related.  Anything soulbound was vendored.  This gave me enough space to go out, kill stuff, and bring back more than enough monsty-tat to cover the cost of my armour repairs, and then some.  It’s a trickle of cash that turns into a flood, over time.

I cleared all the quests that involved carrying things around, or abandoned them for later picking up again later.  If I’m not doing the quest now, then it’s a stack of monsty-tat, or it’s a nice item that I can’t carry.

The Auction House is now my friend.  Anything that had been cluttering bags that could make a profit was sold on the auction house.  Anything that I pick up nowadays that the character cannot use gets put for sale.  Less of this account-based-twinking malarkey says fiscally ruthless Hawley!

If I make craft something as part of raising my crafting level, it goes on the Auction House.  If no-one in guild immediately wants it, it’s going on the auction house.  White dyes do very nicely.

As to the Auction House?  I don’t buy anything from it.  I don’t have the time or the patience for auction house speculation.  I don’t want to be bothered following trends, or trying to guess what’s going to be in demand in the next week.

There’s also the question of worth.  Something is only worth as much as someone who wants it is willing to pay for it.  So as long as I’m making a profit, I don’t care if someone else is getting a bargain.  This means I’m generally undercutting by a savage margin.  Legendary weapons are a lovely little earner for me.  Third Age weapons drop often, and I can sell them really easily.  Someone else thinks they’ve got a bargain, I get a small amount of cash for something that I could use in cash form more than item form, and everyone’s happy.

Yes, I’m not making as much money as I could with my undercutting ways.  But I am selling often, and this means that money is constantly coming in.  That trickle is very much turning into a flood.

It also means that I can play the game with less having to worry about Hobbit bailiffs coming round to my lovely hobbit hole and boarding up the door for non-payment of ground rent…

Cheers,
Hawley.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Every time you use the auction house a pack rat dies, you know!

    I’m standing up for pack rats everywhere and for lack of bag/bank/house space. Down with space! Up with stuff! 😀

    • As long as it’s rats and not kittens I’m OK with that… so go for it Hawley! 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

