The PUG is my friend, the PUG is my friend

September 1, 2009 at 5:51 am | Posted in Grouping, healing | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

Back in the mists of time, Skooge was a bad, bad undead rogue.

One day I was on the Baron Run.  I was in a PUG that was proceeding quite well; we weren’t going to do it in time, but it was good practice for all that.  There were no temper tantrums over phat lewtz, and no-one was acting like a melon-headed sausage-fingered fool.

But just as the portcullis closes, and the first of the waves of ogres begins to trundle towards us, one of the two warriors tells us that his dad is calling him down for tea, and despite his protestations, he has to go afk to eat.

It brings a smile to my face, just thinking about that moment.  We only just survived that fight with four active players, and it was great fun, but the reactions of some of the party were more than a little uncharitable.  I wasn’t one of them; food is better than gaming, any day.  If anything, it made me smile as I remembered being 12 and not wanting to leave the Spectrum for food…

Why my reminiscing?

There are loads of horror stories regarding PUGs; players not understanding aggro mechanics, pets that run amok, petty arguments over phat lewtz.

And I will hold my hand high, and freely admit that I am allergic to PUGs.  They bring me out in a rash, honest.

However.  I am older and wiser now, and I am going to change my attitude towards PUGs.  Why?  Well, I have a number of characters that I need to bash back into shape.  I’m out of practice, and I’m looking at some of the skills and abilities they have, and wonder; “We used to be mates, you and I.  Why?”

Being in a PUG is fantastic practice.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I learn more about playing a healer when things go badly than when they go well, and it’s an honest truth that playing with people you don’t know makes things more likely to go wrong.

Instances are also great for levelling, as they provide bucket-loads of xp, and trez.  Bonus!

It’s about more than just the material benefits, though.  Massively Multiplayer.  The bit that makes these games more than the sum of their parts.  And for me to pointedly ignore that aspect of online gaming means I’m not playing these games to their fullest potential.

So, from now on, I shall play with a view to getting into instances and groups (time permitting).  Gone are the days of insular, curmudgeonly Hawley (and alts).  No, from now on it’s friendly, welcoming Hawley, here for all your PUG healing needs!

Yeah, I wonder how long it will last as well, but we’ll see, won’t we?

Cheers,

Hawley.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I play a Priest healer in WoW and enjoy PUGs. I think itt makes you learn your class better. I love the “crunch time” of healing and when I heal in guild runs I find myself bored. The only excitement I get is pulling the mobs and watching the tanks scramble to get aggro. PUGs are annoying at times but they give that chaotic factor you won’t get from guild groups. I love PUGin’


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

