Is back!

August 16, 2009 at 4:34 pm | Posted in General | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wotcha everyone,

So, here I am again.  I finally have a bit of spare time since the universe decided that it was high time that I got All Growed Up(tm).

I can’t complain.  I’ve spent far too long living the life of a geeky teenager to have any recourse to complain that what other people go through over the course of a decade or so, I’ve had erupt all around me in the course of 9 months.  Yes.  The universe decided to shine a bright light in my face, hit me with a rubber tube, put bamboo splinters under my fingernails, and shout; “You WILL grow up!  You WILL!”  A lot.  With spittle.  Not pretty.

The upshot of all of that growing up was that quite a number of my geeky hobbies got to suffer.  Chief amongst all of these was online gaming.

Over the course of a couple of weeks, I went from spending time playing four online games (I know!  I’m such a game-whore!) to…  well, none.  I would occasionally sneak the odd moment in one or more of them, but nothing and nowhere near the hours that I would have done in the past.

I do not begrudge the lack of play.  I swapped playing (in no particular order) Lord of the Rings Online, World of Warcraft, Age of Conan and Warhammer Online (with occasional forays into Eve Online) for a great job, a great girlfriend, moving house twice, a great promotion from my great job into an even better job, now living with aforementioned great girl, and even had a foreign holiday (for the first time in 19 years).  In essence, I got all growed up.

But now time pressures are easing off.  I can afford to spend more time playing games, and whilst my playing shall never get back to those halcyon days of spending three evenings a week raiding and another two levelling and instancing, I can at least game again.

So, here I am again.

I’ve forgotten so much about playing in these games, that I know I’m making things tougher for myself at times.  But hey, it’s a lot of fun in those big bad online worlds.

And to go with that all that, here is *M*M*O*S*H*.  It’s an opportunity to comment on what it’s like playing a healer (mostly) in online gaming.  Well, the games that Arbitrary and I (and whomever else) play.

Cheers,
Hawley.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay! Welcome back Hawley. Look forwards to hear about all the trez you’ve been looting and congrats on the girl, house, and job, and holiday!

    So what are you playing these days?

  2. Good to see you back in the saddle!

  3. Awesome to have you back Hawley 🙂

  4. Wow, it has been long time no bloggy. Last time I heard from you it was the interview I did of all of Book of Grudges on my old, old, old blog The Order of Destruction. Sadly, I deleted that blog (I should have just left it up). I moved house 2 or 3 times to settle in at A Wall of Text and Scarybooster.com. I’ll add you to my blogroll I’ve always enjoyed your writing.

  5. Welcome back! Consider yourself RSS fed! (No pressure! :D)

  6. Welcome back 🙂

  7. Wotcha everyone,

    Thanks, it’s really appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Hawley.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

